March 2018 News

By SC Kart Club
In Events
Mar 11th, 2018

Next Club Day

Sunday, 25th March 2018 at Blair Cartwright’s property , Cartwrights Road, Timaru – will be signposted from the corner of State Highway 8 (Pleasant Point Highway) and Cartwrights Road.

Please no dogs and remember to clean up after yourselves and respect this property.

Scrutineering is at 10:00am – 10:30 followed by drivers briefing.  Please bring karts to the sign in table and form 2 lines for karts to be scrutineered.  Please wait with your kart then sign in.

Can we please have clean karts for scrutineering.  Numbers must be on all four sides of the kart and be clearly readable, black on white or white on black.  No numbers, no points.

There will be NO BBQ running at lunchtime so please ensure you bring your lunch


Upcoming events

31st March  –  1st of April 2018  –  NZ Grass Kart Champs

Edmunds Road, Ohoka

Scrutineering – there are two options

Fri, 30th March    4.00pm – 6.00pm Mimico, Pilkington Way, Wigram, Christchurch

Sat, 31st March    8.00am – 9.00am  Race venue – Edmunds Road, Ohoka

The Prize Giving Function will be held on the Sunday evening at the Kaipoi Working Mens Club, 113 Raven Street, Kaiapoi beginning at 7.00pm with a light supper being served at 8.00pm followed by the prize giving

Good luck to all those who have entered the NZ Champs


Club Champs

We recently held our 2018 Club Championships at Blair Cartwrights Property, Timaru on Sunday, 25th February.

A huge “thank you” to Michael Wilson who was our race controller for the day, Ian who was our flag marshal for the day and to Rex on the motorbike once again pushing those who required assistance – we appreciate your help immensely.  Also thanks to the Cartwright family for once again allowing us the use of your property.

The fast flowing track had been set the weekend before but due to Cyclone Gita one section was altered due to water ponding in the slight hollow at the end of the front straight but this still did not deter some drivers taking a water bath during their race.  A good field of entries were received across all grades and racing for this years event was to have 3 qualifying races to determine grid positions for a final one off race to determine the Club Champion for each Grade.  The 3 qualifying races had pre-determined drawn grid positions and points awarded with the highest points then qualifying for front grid positions in the final race.

Tight racing was contested across the Grades with the spoils across the 3 qualifying races evenly spread – not only was it about driver ability but it also came down to kart reliability to see who would gain those front grid positions.

Midget Grade

1st   Ashton Trumper,   2nd   Ryan Gallagher,    3rd   Malakai Webb

Intermediate Grade

1st   Jacob Cunniffe,    2nd   Kane Botherway,    3rd   MacGregor Rae

Junior Grade

1st   Jordan Trumper,    2nd   Flynn Coskerie

Senior Grade

1st   Jerard Trumper,    2nd   Shane Coskerie,    3rd   Darren Rae


1st   Kate Brown

Open Grade

1st   Ben McLaren,    2nd   Nathan Reid,    3rd   Richard Brown

Super Kart Grade

1st   Ben McLaren,    2nd   Kyle Robertson,    3rd   Nathan Reid

Steve Neame Memorial Race

1st   Kate Brown,    2nd   Jordan Trumper,    3rd   Shane Coskerie


2017/2018 Points Series

Throughout the 2017/2018 season we ran a points series – our season included one sealed meeting with the remaining 9 meetings on grass tracks and the below are the winners

Midget Grade

1st       62 points         Ryan Gallagher

2nd      49 points         Scott McLaren

3rd       47 points         Fin Rae

Intermediate Grade

1st       41 points         Jacob Cunniffe

2nd      21 points         MacGregor Rae

3rd       15 points         Kane Botherway

Junior Grade

1st       55 points         Jordan Rae

2nd      52 points         Jordan Trumper

3rd       37 points         Flynn Coskerie

Ladies Grade

1st       10 points         Deb Boyce

Senior Grade

1st       79 points         Shane Coskerie

2nd      62 points         Darren Rae

3rd       58 points         Shaun Clark

Open Grade

1st       71 points         Brad Rae

2nd      64 points         Ben McLaren

3rd       34 points         Andrew Green

Super Kart Grade

1st       27 points         Ben McLaren

2nd      19 points         Kyle Robertson

3rd       11 points         Jason Todd



If you know of anyone who has a paddock available for the Club to race on please let one of the Committee know as it’s greatly appreciated to have new venues to race at.

A big thanks to all our volunteers that help out leading up to and on our club days, your help is greatly appreciated.